More Reviews

04/28/2009

Films

Annie Hall – Great acting and great chemistry between characters. I absolutely loved Diane Keaton as the title character; she was honest and charming, and absolutely adorable.

The Bridge – Documentary about suicide via the Golden Gate Bridge. It was odd to actually watch people jump off the bridge and not see the film makers do anything to stop them. Like the photographer said, it’s very easy to witness these events from behind a camera or, in our case, a television screen, and not fully accept the reality of the situation. It was interesting to hear the friends and family members who were interviewed. I recommend.

Hannah Takes the Stairs – This film is short (only an hour and 20 minutes or so) but it felt horribly long. Nothing happens, and the chemisty between some of the characters seemed awkward and foolish.

Music

Fucked Up: The Chemistry of Common Life – I read reviews, and I heard good things from Joe, but the name really bothers me. It doesn’t offend me, but I think the name is stupid. Is it supposed to be ironic? As far as I can tell, no. That’s what bothers me the most. The album is excellent. Based on the reviews, I expected a lot more screaming and useless noise. The band is tight. Listen to it.

Leave a Reply

